The Role of a Financial Advisor

During my searches on multiple platforms I have come to the realisation that there are a spate of ‘self help’ tools, apps and articles at the moment. Many of them perform the same task, but simply have a different name or interface.

None of them fulfil the role of a personal financial advisor.

Looking through all of these different financial planning calculators and self help tools, it occurred to me that although being able to better track and manage your budget is always a good idea, and there are many, easy-to-use applications for this, it’s not that same thing as having a personal financial advisor in your corner, giving you the right advice for you. An app might do one thing really well for 50 000 people, but a financial advisor is able to take a holistic, detailed look at one person’s entire financial picture.

As a financial advisor, it is my job to ensure that in the event of any unforeseen occurrences, you and your family will be looked after.

I’m not here to tell you only what you want to hear, nor can I promise to present your data in prettily coloured charts and graphs on your phone – you have an app for that.

What I can do is relate to you as a human being, listen to what your unique needs and concerns are and help you address any shortfalls in your financial risk management plans.

It’s my job to tell you what you need to hear, to be real with you when you need direction, and to offer you practical advice when you’re not sure what else to do.

Having access to a personal financial advisor is about more than just a service, it’s about a relationship. It’s about trust. I’m not just here to make sure you get the right policy, but also to ensure that when you call me at nine o’ clock at night with an emergency claim, I have your file ready.

The difference is that I know your name, I know your needs, I know you, and I am always ready to fight for your best interests. 

Technology is changing all of our lives, and evolving across all industries, so by all means, I can absolutely recommend downloading a good budgeting app to help you keep track of your spending, but when it comes to making major financial decisions at every stage in your life, or protecting your family’s future, do you really want to leave that in the hands of a call centre agent or an algorithm?

Leave a Reply

